Welcome!!!

Three years later, and I have yet to cure Ryan of his football obsession.  Even Murphy has joined the dark side . .

During the last two years, I attempted to find a way to entertain myself during football season while Ryan watches every football game and every football show televised. I should clarify that “football season” starts in approximately June, when “we” start talking about Fantasy Football.  Then during the week, “Football Sunday” starts on Friday night or Saturday morning, when “we” start talking about our Fantasy Football team for Sunday.   Sometimes, when there is a game on Thursday, “Football Sunday” starts as early as Wednesday night.  And with Monday Night Football, the only day I can claim to have a boyfriend from September through January during football season is Tuesday.  Every other day football is his girlfriend, and I am the other woman.

Year 1, I decided to cook chili every Sunday.  While this was fun, two people can only eat so much chili from September through January.  Year 2, I decided to cook foods based on the team the Packers are playing.  This was pretty good success, and we avoided eating chili almost every day for months on end.  The only problem was that I realized I didn’t keep track of all of my recipes, plus I had no medium to make fun of Ryan’s football obsession.  So, this year, I am going to make foods based on the team the Packers are playing and keep track of all of the recipes on here.

Tagged , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Welcome!!!

  1. Ok, this is an awesome idea! I like to cook, but hate to clean up after…otherwise I would consider doing this to distract me from my hate of the Packers…lol. No offense…I’m married to a Packer fan, I am a Vikings fan…enough said. Best of luck to entertain yourself during those dang Packer games!

  2. Great idea! We’re always eating while football is on…it would be a great time to try some new recipes.

    • noodle21 says:

      I love trying the new recipes – finding them (and remembering the ones I like) is my problem. I tend to stick to some pretty standard ones, so I thought this would be a good idea to force me to try out some new foods!

  3. Your dog is adorable.Your blog, witty. My blog was spurred on by Football season as well. That, coupled with my inability to remember any recipes I cook or the changes to them that I make, a common problem I take it…?

    I’m currently ‘flirting’ with the darkside as I’m participating in fantasy football this year I chose my team by their names, (and won last week…) this is seen as a mockery of fantasy apparently. My only retort is “it’s called ‘FANTASY’…”

    Excited to see what you will make/cook next,
    Following from Patriots Nation,
    Julia

    • noodle21 says:

      Thanks! I have yet to join the darkside, but I am sure I will eventually. Ryan is in five leagues, so I think that is enough for the both of us.

      I say keep up the mockery, because I would probably draft my team the same exact way!!

      If you have any good football recipes feel free to send them my way, I am always looking for something new to try!

      • FIVE?! Wow. I thought one was weird enough. That is definitely enough for two people.
        So far choosing by names has been totally fool proof. Even rookies (who knew?) with cool names have been working out well. Though I am a serious dunce when it comes to the game, and it’s players.
        I have this weekend made my very first buffalo chicken dip and pigs in a blanket, but as the cold weather sets in, I’ll have more time to get into my favorite types of comfort foods.
        Likewise, I’m always looking for things to try, and am on the lookout for a seriously good chili recipe that doesn’t take a scientist to make (beans, no-bean, I choose no sides on this argument).

      • noodle21 says:

        Yes, five. Sometimes love is blind, at least to a significant other’s fantasy football obsession! When/if I finally cave, I think I will go by name. I will have to check out your buffalo chicken dip recipe. I tried one once and we liked it, but I think we would like it spicier next time.

        I posted a chili recipe yesterday, I don’t know if you saw it – its not too complicated. I am trying to find an old chili recipe of mine from last year that we really liked – I hope I wrote it down. 🙂

      • Haha. It is indeed. I have a bit of a backlog of posts at this point in time, but I think buffalo chicken dip should be up tomorrow…? I added scotch bonnet sauce to mine, because it’s my new favorite hot sauce, if you have not had it, get some!
        I’ll check out the chili, it’s gettin to be that time of year!

  4. […] about this – this girl!  Why you ask? I love chili.  As some of you know, I even made chili every week for one entire football season!  So, guess, what we are making this month – if you […]

Leave a Reply

