Ryan Cooks!!!!

Ladies and Gentleman, miracles can happen, and I have proof.  Ryan cooked.  Well he didn’t really cook, but I am choosing to give him credit, because the last time he “cooked” he went to KFC to get mashed potatoes and the gyro place to get chicken wraps.  Not exactly cooking in my book.  Anyways, this time, he actually kind of sort of “cooked.”  This time he mixed ingredients.  Ryan was in charge of the beer cheese dip, which means that he put the ingredients I told him to into the mixer and started the mixer.  Yup, he is a regular master chef, and I am one lucky girl.  I shall now call him Sir Mix-a-Lot.

He warned me that I had to be nice, or that it might affect, my rating.  But I am fearless, and I can take a bad rating for the sake of letting everyone know of his culinary prowess.  P.S.  he just told me that I was right on another unrelated matter.  It sure does feel good to be me right now.

Anyway, time for the menu, some recipes, and the rating.

Menu for Bear-Packer Game

  • Beer Cheese Dip – The Wisconsin twist instead of provolone or mozzarella on the Italian Beef Sandwiches.
  • Soft Pretzels (I really love soft pretzels, and I somehow I rationalized in my mind that usually in the city you can find a soft pretzel stand somewhere)
  • Italian Beef served on a pretzel roll with beer cheese dip and onions and peppers
  • Beer Bacon Cupcakes

For the Beer Cheese Dip, I pretty much followed this recipe – here.  The only change I made was to sub out the green onion for diced green chilies, and I served it warm.  I served the beer cheese dip with red pepper slices (excellent!!!) and mini soft-pretzel sticks.

For the Soft Pretzels, I followed this recipe – here.   I doubled the batch, and I made approximately 12 of the larger pretzels.  I tried to keep the pretzel twist tight so they could double as buns for the Italian Beef, and they worked great!  Although, I would definitely cook it the fully 14 minutes or even longer next time – they were done on the inside, but not as golden brown on the outside as I would have liked. I also made some smaller pretzel “sticks” for dipping in the beer cheese dip.

For the Italian Beef, I followed this recipe – here.   This one I made the most changes to, but it was mostly about personal taste.  I add more red pepper flake, some fresh herbs (rosemary and thyme) double the wine, and add extra beef stock.  I made this the night before, and then heated it up in the crockpot, which worked out great!

The Beer Bacon Cupcakes were made by one of our lovely guests, and the recipe will soon be posted in a guest post.  Needless to say, they were delicious, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Ryan asks me to add candied bacon to every dish we make in the future.  Ryan just informed me that he had to have two of the beer bacon cupcakes today for breakfast.  I swear if it wasn’t for me, his diet would be bacon and apple fritters.

The Rating

Oh yes, and the rating, that apparently is going to be in the sewer (like my heart after last nights game) because I trashed Ryan earlier.  I say, bring it own.

Ryan says the highlights for him were the Soft Pretzels and the Beer Bacon Cupcakes (although he assures me that the Italian Beef was good, and that my feelings shouldn’t be hurt because it was so good he ate some for lunch today).  One more picture of the genius behind the Beer Bacon Cupcakes and Murphy:

Ryan totally trashed me on “authenticity” and gave me a 7.875 because he said the Italian Beef was lacking the hot giardiniera.  He again says that my feelings shouldn’t be hurt, because he is only taking his role as rater seriously, and that it didn’t stop him from eating some of it for lunch today. This coming from the boy who has to take breaks when eating chili because it is too spicy.  To that I say, YOU CANNOT HANDLE THE HOT GIARDINIERA!!!

Being a good Bears Fan I declined the Packer Win Bonus points out of a sense of integrity.

So, without further commentary, my rating is a 9.055 and here the overall breakdown for the rating:

  • Deliciousness – 17 out of 20
  • Authenticity – 7.875 out of 10
  • Complementary Items – 9.65 out of 10
  • Presentation – 4.75 out of 5
  • Quantity – 5 out of 5
  • Bonus Points – 1 out of 4
  • Overall Score – 9.055 out of 10
Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ryan Cooks!!!!

  1. […] got a little creative with the hot dogs.  After the hot giardiniera incident of 2012, Ryan decided to have his revenge.  After grilling the hot dogs, Ryan let them soak in a container […]

  2. […] the past, we have made Italian Beef for the game, but this time we decided to be risky.  Well, I was content to make Italian Beef […]

Leave a Reply

