What to Cook – Green Bay v. Seattle

This week the Packers play the Seattle Seahawsks, and I am at a loss as to what too cook. Ryan, the official rater and eater of the household will be out of town for the game, so I am tempted to order myself some sushi, get some Starbucks, and call it a day. However, I still think I want to cook something.

Apparently Washington is known for apples – so maybe an apple treat.  I would make apple pie, but if I ever did that when Ryan was out of town, he would never forgive me.  He just loves apple pie too much.

According to the internet, the state of Washington is also famous for wine – so maybe it will be a wine and sushi kind of night.  I neglected to mention previously that while we (by we I mean Ryan, generally don’t like seafood), I LOVE sushi.  Ryan, not so much.  Although he did take me to a new sushi restaurant for my birthday once.  I remember when he called me to tell me that we were going to sushi restaurant.  He was “pumped” to go, which surprised me.  Then he told me that  “Guess, what, you can order things other than sushi at a sushi restaurant.”  It’s the thought that counts.

Apparently blackberries are pretty popular in the fall as well. So with that said, I have no idea what I am going to make.  Any suggestions?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “What to Cook – Green Bay v. Seattle

  1. Mom says:

    Pie pie pie & wine I like pie

  2. Katie says:

    Brie and apple pie — sort of. You need: 1 or 2 Pillsbury ready made pie crusts, 4 or 5 fresh Fuji apples and a wedge of Brie cheese. Preheat to 350. Put the crust in a pie pan. Put the Brie wedge in the middle of the pan (if the pie crust will not fold over the top of the Brie, then slice it into smaller wedges to make this possible). Slice the apples in thin wedges and layer them around and on top of the Brie. Feel free to sprinkle with some Nutmeg, Cinnamon, etc. I would also squeeze a little lemon juice on top. Fold pie crust over top of the Brie. Add a little more Cinnamon/Nutmeg sprinkled on top and some butter slices. Pop in the oven and leave until Brie melts and crust turns golden. Upon removal put some slices of butter on top of the crust to melt in while it cools. Serve with a generous side of wine. The best of Washington and Wisconsin!

    *This counts as an unbalananced, wholly delicious meal if you eat it all — and it’s not really pie so Ryan can’t get mad.

  3. Katie says:

    Found this variation online as well — looks pretty good:

    This easy baked apple Brie recipe features hot, melted cheese and baked apples in a delicious contrast of sweet, salty, and earthy flavors. The whole appetizer takes less than 15 minutes to put together and provides an elegant dish for your next gathering.

    Prep Time: 3 minutes

    Cook Time: 12 minutes

    Total Time: 15 minutes

    Yield: 6 to 8 servings

    Ingredients:
    •1 round of brie
    •1 large apple, cut into thin wedges
    •1 tablespoon brown sugar
    •2 tablespoons maple syrup
    •Almonds, optional garnish
    •Bread for serving

    Preparation:

    How to make baked apple Brie:

    Preheat the oven to 375. Place the Brie on an ovenproof serving plate. Arrange the apple wedges over and around the cheese. Sprinkle the apples and Brie with the brown sugar and drizzle the maple syrup over it.

    Bake the apples and Brie for 10 to 12 minutes, until the apples are just tender and the cheese is hot throughout. Garnish the baked apples and Brie with almond, if desired, and serve it with bread.

    This baked apple Brie recipe makes 6 to 8 servings.

  4. Alyssa says:

    I would like to cordially invite myself to your house for wine, sushi and pie. I have an apple-pie-in-a-brown-paper-bag recipe that is pretty tasty. We could also make homemade apple sauce (I have my mom’s recipe if we need it).

    • noodle21 says:

      Pie in a brown-paper-bag sounds awesome. Alyssa, you are cordially invited to come over for wine, sushi, and pie, provided you bring the apple-pie-in a brown-paper bag recipe!!!

  5. Lindsey says:

    I had the best fish and chips outside wisconsin friday night fish fry in Seattle….

    But if you are doing it for yourself… Make yourself some sushi!

    • noodle21 says:

      I am not sure that I can handle doing a fish fry or making sushi – both seem like they are out of my league. I was thinking about buying sushi, although I did see a really fun dessert sushi recipe that I thought I could handle.

  6. I think you’re right on the money with sushi & Starbucks. . . . Then wine.

Leave a Reply

