Football Chili

Ryan and I met on Halloween (that’s another story for another day), so there were only about three months left of football season when we met (yes, our relationship is measured in football milestones – I have accepted it).  Given that we had just started dating, and he was trying to impress me, he kept his football obsession slightly under wraps.   By the time football season rolled around again, we had been dating for about nine months (cue end of honeymoon girlfriend-wooing stage), and there was no hiding the football obsession.  Which meant that come Sunday, I needed to find other methods of entertainment.  Thus, began the early inspirations for this blog – I started by making chili every Sunday. Two people can only eat so much chili, so now we have introduced some variety.

Well, with Ryan being out of town this weekend, and me needing something to cook other than “Seattle” food (Seattle is in quotes, because my interpretation of Seattle food is, well, stretched – check back tomorrow to see just how far), I decided to go back in time via my trusty cooking time-machine, and make chili.  I had Murphy to keep me company with all of the cooking, although he was less than thrilled that I was not paying attention to him.  Here he is pouting because I won’t take him on a walk:

“Pppppplease, mom.  I just want to go for a walk, pppppplease”  Yes, He is a world champion of pouting.  In fact, if it was an olympic sport, I think he would take gold.

Don’t worry we aren’t bad pet owners.  There is a legitimate reason, I am not taking him on a walk.  He hurt his paw (we don’t know how), and he just stopped limping, so we haven’t been going for any walks.  Although I did take him for a short one this evening and he made it about seven minutes before he started limping again.  However, he loved every step of the walk, and yes he definitely wore one of his bow ties out on the walk. We have been spending extra time working on his commands to make up for the lack of walks.  He is finally starting to learn that touch doesn’t require him to keep his butt on the ground. Although for as athletic as he is, he only jumps about 1 cm off the ground.  Baby steps I guess.

For the record, I did not watch any football today – none. And it was awesome!!!! Although I will watch Sportscenter later (because I actually kind of like Sportscenter).  Right after I watch The Real Housewives.

Well, anyway, here is the chili recipe . . .

Ingredients

  • Olive Oil
  • Medium/large onion – diced
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic
  • 2-3 pounds chuck roast (to save money, I bought a roast and cut it myself instead of paying for pre-cut stew meat)
  • 2 28 ounce cans of petite diced tomoates
  • 2 cans kidney beans (any variety – I usually use red because I like the bright colors)
  • Spices
  • Wine/Beer

Steps

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a medium sized bowl mix together 1-2 cups of wine (you don’t have to use wine, beer or any other liquid would suffice, but I had some leftover wine from dinner Friday) with whatever spices you like (I used ginger, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and cayenne pepper).  I don’t really measure, and it usually ends up pretty spicy.  I usually use the lid of the spice container to measure.  For the ginger I used just a bit – maybe about a teaspoon.  I did about 3-4 capfuls of chili powder.  For all the other spices, I did about ½ to 1 capful of each.
  3. Add the meat to the wine/spice mix and toss to coat.  Let this sit while you sauté the onions and garlic.
  4. Sauté the onions in olive oil until translucent (about ten minutes) in a Dutch Oven. (Have I mentioned before that I love my Dutch Oven.
  5. Add the garlic and sauté for about five minutes.
  6. Add the meat and cook for about ten minutes.
  7. Add the kidney beans and tomatoes, cover, and place in the oven for approximately 3 hours or until meat is tender.

In the end, this is what you get . . .

And one with the The trusty Dutch Oven:

I know I have mentioned previously that I try and be health and budget conscious – I coupon, buy what’s on sale, and Ryan and I have recently taken up biking.  Later this week, I will post cost and nutritional information about this recipe.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Football Chili

  1. Julia Fairchild says:

    Adding this to my “to make soon” list!

  2. […] is my post from my last chili adventure, as well as a picture to get the rest of you excited about NATIONAL […]

Leave a Reply

