Gary’s Jambalya Recipe

For the Packers Saints Game we made Jambalaya and Beignets.

Here is the recipe for the Jambalaya.  This is adapted from Gary’s (my sister’s significant other) recipe.

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil
  • 1 ½  lb cubed chicken
  • ½ lb andouille sausage (I used Johnsonville – maybe not authentic, but I had a coupon for it and it was on sale )
  • 1 lb ham cubed
  • 3 bratwurst (I used Klements – again on sale, and I had a coupon)
  • 1 large onion chopped
  • 1 large bell pepper diced small
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 5 stalks celery chopped
  • 3 cans tomato paste (the small cans)
  • 1 large can diced tomatoes (28oz can)
  • 4-5 cups chicken stock
  • 3 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 3 tsp red pepper flake
  • 3 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 2 bay leaf (remove prior to eating)
  • 3 cups cooked rice (I had a rice loving crowd – I am talking about you Dad – so I actually made six cups of cooked rice, mixed three cups of rice into the jambalaya, and then served the jambalaya over rice as well.)

Steps: 

  1. Dice all meat to about ½ inch cubes.
  2. Add olive oil to pot, and, over medium to high heat, brown chicken in big pot, remove chicken.
  3. Turn heat to medium-low, add onion and sauté until translucent.
  4. Add garlic and sauté about 1 minute
  5. Add celery, and bell pepper and sauté about 3 minutes.
  6. Add all the meat back into the pot.
  7. Add chicken stock, tomato paste, diced tomatoes, and seasonings.  Simmer for 1hour.
  8. 10-20 min prior to serving add cooked rice to pot.

I made three extra cups of rice.  My parents were over, and my dad loves rice.  We served the jambalaya over the rice and it was delicious.  I have a feeling it will be delicious without the extra rice as well.

As the spice, I thought it was the right amount, but my mom thought it was a little spicy.  So, maybe I will tone it down a little next time.  I think I might have cooked it with a little white wine as well.  There is always next time!

Ryan said he would have liked it more, if we served it with bread of something for dipping – so any suggestions for next time? What do you serve jambalaya with?

I will post the Beignet recipe later this week.  As a bit of a teaser – these were baked not fried!

P.S. in case you haven’t figured it out yet, the “Mystery Wisconsin Ingredient” was bratwurst!

Oh, and on a completely unrelated note, the woman in front of me in line at the grocery store was digging around in her purse for six cents because she was trying to avoid breaking a dollar.  I had my wallet hand, and I knew I had a ton of change in there, so I gave her a dime.  She thought it was the nicest thing ever. Who knew that ten cents could make someone’s day!

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gary’s Jambalya Recipe

  1. amy says:

    yummy! I will have to give this a try!

  2. […] the last Packer game, we made jambalaya and […]

Leave a Reply

