Packers v. Saints – Jambalaya and Beignets

So, I might have lied earlier.  I wasn’t making gumbo – I was making jambalaya.  But Gary’s Gumbo, just has a better ring to it than Gary’s Jambalaya.  Oh well, it was still delicious!  Ryan gave the overall meal a score of a 9.08.  Here is how the score broke down:

  • Delicousness – 15.5 out of 20
  • Authenticity – 8.5 out of 10
  • Complementary Items – 8.5 out of 10
  • Presentation – 4 out of 5
  • Quantity – 4.9 out of 5
  • Bonus – 4 out of 4

And now for Ryan’s review – in his southern accent  . . .

Or not, Ryan won’t saying anything other than “bush-hogging” and “from the snooter to the pooter.” So he is on a blogging review timeout.  Imposed by me.  He will be back next week, when he has rediscovered that he was born and raised in the Midwest.

As for the food, Ryan says he liked the spice.  I was warned that this is a spicy recipe, but I doubled the spice and added red pepper flake and paprika anyway.  What can I say, I like spicy.  I thought it was just barely spicy.  Ryan said it was just the right amount.

And now for some pictures of the meal.  Recipes to come.

Sign Number 1 that Ryan will probably like this meal – a lot of meat! And this is only half of it!  If you were wondering what the Wisconsin twist would be, this picture is a hint. Any idea what it is?

The finished product:

And now time for dessert – beignets with raspberry sauce:

Murphy helped with the dishes:

Yes, I did get powdered sugar all over the tablecloth.  Apparently, I am a messy cook.  But that spot on the wall is the reflection from the flash, even I could not get powdered sugar all the way over on the wall!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Packers v. Saints – Jambalaya and Beignets

  1. […] For the Packers Saints Game we made Jambalaya and Beignets. […]

Leave a Reply

