Oven Baked Beignets

For the last Packer game, we made jambalaya and beignets.

Unlike traditional beignets, which are fried, these beignets are baked.  Here is a link to the recipe that I started from.  I pretty much followed the recipe, except I did not have any buttermilk, so I used regular milk.  Instead of the cafe au lait dip, I made an orange/raspberry sauce.  In a saucepan over medium heat, I mixed together about 3 tablespoons raspberry preserves and 1/8 cup of orange juice.  I did add a little sugar and cinnamon and then let it simmer until it was syruppy (official terminology).

Anyway, here is the finished product:

They were good, but they don’t hold a candle to the real thing.  There is something about a fried beignet from New Orleans that just cannot be replicated in the oven.  What about you guys? Has anyone had success with making a baked version of a typical fried food? I am supposed to make baked apple fritters sometime soon, but I haven’t found a recipe that I am trilled about.

Ryan just informed me that he has eaten almost all of the leftover beignets.  Apparently someone in the house really like him.  Although, he then informed me that he ate them as a side to the jambalaya and really lied them that way.  Hmmmmm.  Sweet and spicy – sounds like a good combo.

So, back to the original question – has anyone had any luck with making the baked version of a typically fried food?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

