Packers v. Colts – Breaded Pork Sandwiches

According to the internet, Indianapolis is known for a breaded pork tenderloin sandwiches.

You will note that popcorn is on that list as well.  We love popcorn in this house, and we NEVER need an excuse to make popcorn.  The dialogue in the house often goes as follows:

Murphy: “Dad, Mom has a question.” (What, Murphy speaks!!??! Yes, people, he is superhuman!!! We tried to keep it a secret, but we just couldn’t any more.  Actually, I speak for him.  I even have a Murphy “voice.”  Sometimes, it is a miracle that Ryan continues to date me, as I am the living definition of weird – oh well, I guess there is someone for everyone.  Okay, back to the dialogue)

Ryan: “Yes, Murphy?”

Murphy: “Dad, mom wants to know if you want popcorn.”

Ryan: “Murphy, does Mom want popcorn? If mom, wants popcorn, she can make some.”  (Please note that Ryan willingly partakes in this dialogue)

Murphy: “Okay, great, Dad, I will tell Mom that you want popcorn.”

. . .  time passes, popcorn is made, more time passes . . .

Lindsey: “Honey, ummmm, Murphy and I ate all the popcorn, you didn’t want any did you?”

Alas, so goes the saga of popcorn.  Well we didn’t make popcorn tonight, that might be because we made it last night. Told you, we (Murphy and I) love popcorn.

Anyways, on to tonight’s menu: Breaded pork sandwiches, with thick-cut bacon, apple slices, and brie on homemade sandwich bread.  Served with a side of broccoli (we are trying to get back into eating healthy, so baby steps I guess). Pictures for your drooling pleasure . . .

And now for the rating:

Murphy proceeded to drool all over the house, so we are fairly certain he approved of the meal, even though he didn’t get any.  He lives such a hard life.

So, now for Ryan’s rating – A score of 8.76, and here is the breakdown:

  • Deliciousness – 16 out of 20 (Ryan said he like the pork better on its one, and not as a sandwich – yes, people he did eat two – he is a bottomless pit)
  • Authenticity – 9.8 out of 10
  • Complementary Items – 7.5 out of 10
  • Presentation 4.5 out of 5
  • Quantity – 5 out of 5
  • Bonus – 1 out of 4

Ryan informed me that my “complementary items” score would have gone up if I had served chili with it.  Let me explain.  Today, I also made White Chicken Chili.  Apparently, all day long, Ryan thought he was going to get a side of chili with the sandwich (because those two go together at all, really? He has no taste-buds, why am I allowing him to be the rater.  I seriously need to look into other options).

This is my lowest score yet, and I am not happy with my rater.  Here are my gripes: (1) He is not impartial.  He said his score was impacted by his bad mood (thanks, Packers for losing), and he said he would up my score if I would give him a shoulder rub – I huffed and declined. (2) Sometimes I wonder if he has taste buds – need I remind you of the bacon cheeseburger concoction he called BREAKFAST! (3) He is prejudiced against all foods not containing bacon or gravy.  (4) He makes me do all the dishes (hehehe, not true, but I write the blog, so I can say whatever I want).

Recipe and more pictures to come.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

