Breaded Pork Sandwiches

I went back and forth on this recipe, and I couldn’t decide whether to stuff the pork chops or just add toppings.  In the end, I decided to add toppings, and I am very happy with my decision.  I also completely made up this recipe, so there was a good chance it was going to crash and burn.  Somehow it turned out.

     

 

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Four boneless pork loin chops – cut off the fat and pound them until they are about 1/2 inch or less thick
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons black pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 2 cups panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 pound thick cut bacon, cooked
  • apple slices
  • brie

Steps:

  1. Place pork chops in container with lid
  2. Mix together buttermilk, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika.  Pour mixture over the pork chops.
  3. Allow pork chops to sit in the fridge for 4-6 hours.
  4. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  5. Place oven safe wire rack on tinfoil lined cookie sheet.
  6. Drain off excess buttermilk and coat pork chops in bread crumbs.
  7. Bake in oven 25 minutes
  8. Top pork chops with bacon, apples, and brie, and bake 5-10 minutes

To stay true to Indy, I made these as a sandwich, and, of course, I made my own bread.  I followed this recipe.  And the bread was delicious, but not as delicious as the honey oat bread I decided to make.  More about that one later.

I think I would make this again (even if the Packers were not playing Indy), but I think I would not serve it as a sandwich.  And I think I would top the pork chops with apple sauce instead of apple slices (apple sauce and breaded pork chops are a favorite with my family, not sure if anyone else eats this). Ryan concurs.  I am sure he would up the bacon next time around as well.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Breaded Pork Sandwiches

  1. I must say that your sandwich looks delicious!! Thanks for linking to my homemade sandwich bread recipe!! And I am looking forward to the honey oat bread you made! Would love to give it a try.

    • noodle21 says:

      You’re welcome. The bread was delicious and very easy to make. I am seriously considering giving up store-bought bread. I am hoping to post about the honey oat bread tonight.

Leave a Reply

