Cinnamon Rolls – Yummmmm!

This morning I couldn’t decide what I wanted for breakfast.  I contemplated continuing the chili over everything them and making a chili version of biscuits and gravy, but, I hadn’t made the chili yet, so that was out. Maybe next weekend!

In the end decided I needed cinnamon rolls.  Probably because I have seen a lot of delicious looking cinnamon rolls when I have been perusing other blogs.  Here and here for example.  Yummm!!!  Ryan offered to go buy some, but I decided, why not make some.

I made cinnamon rolls a couple of times last year.  And of course there were the infamous bacon-wrapped cinnamon rolls.  I used Paula Deen’s recipe those times, so I decided to start from here.  Here is the recipe as I changed it.

Ingredients

Dough:

  • ¼ -ounce package yeast
  • ½ cup warm water
  • ½ cup milk
  • ¼  cup sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 5 tablespoons butter or shortening
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 ½ to 4 cups all-purpose flour (I used just over 3 ½ cups)

Filling:

  • ¼ cup melted butter [Note: This is half the butter that Paula recommends, and I didn’t even use all of it. Ryan didn’t complain, and now the recipe is mildly healthy – well not really, oh well.]
  • ¾  cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 apple, peeled and diced (I used honeycrisp today, because my honey wanted honeycrisps, hehehe)

Glaze:

You probably could have just used a little powdered sugar. I think I would have liked it that way.  But for this go round, I mixed together powdered sugar, a little milk, and vanilla until it reached the desired consistency.  Then I spooned it over the cinnamon rolls.

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees F. [Note: This is the first step in the initial recipe.  It makes no sense.  You have to let the dough sit for a minimum of one hour, so there is no point in preheating the oven at this point.  Silly, Paula.]
  2. Dissolve yeast in warm water and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl mix milk, sugar, melted butter, salt, egg, and cinnamon.
  4. Add 2 cups of flour and mix until smooth.
  5. Add yeast mixture. Mix in remaining flour until dough is easy to handle. I used my dough hook on my mixer, and I just let it go for about five minutes instead of kneading the dough, which Paula recommends.
  6. Place in well-greased bowl [Paula probably intends for you to use actual grease, or oil at a minimum.  I just sprayed the bowl with Pam.  Seemed to work just fine for me], cover and let rise until doubled in size, about 1 hour.
  7. Preheat the oven NOW.  Notice, I have saved you one hour worth of gas/electric.  You can thank you me now.
  8. When doubled in size, punch down dough. Roll out on a floured surface into a 15 by 9-inch rectangle.
  9. Spread melted butter all over dough. Mix sugar, cinnamon, and apples and sprinkle over buttered dough. Sprinkle with walnuts, pecans, or raisins if desired. Beginning at the 15-inch side, role up dough and pinch edge together to seal. Cut into 12 to 15 slices.
  10. Coat the bottom of baking pan with butter. Place cinnamon roll slices close together in the pan. [Note: At this point Paula recommends letting the rolls sit and rise for another 45 minutes.  I was too impatient, so I just put them right in the oven.]
  11. Bake for about 30 minutes or until nicely browned.
  12. Top however you like and then enjoy!!!!

Here are some pictures of the yummy goodness.

     Fresh out of the oven!

With Bacon!

 

While the dough was rising, I made the chili. Ryan insists that chili is better reheated. So I made the chili in the morning, and I will put it in the slow cooker to warm it back up this afternoon when we are getting ready for dinner. More on how the chili turned out later.

Now I am debating with Ryan whether he is replacable.  We both know that I am not.

Oh, and of course we are watching football. What else would we be doing on a Sunday.

 

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Cinnamon Rolls – Yummmmm!

  1. […] had previously made cinnamon rolls, and I started with Paula Deen’s […]

Leave a Reply

