Update on Giving Up Store-Bought Bread

A couple of weeks, I wrote about the giving up store-bought bread and the recipes I found that were just amazing!!!

Last weekend (I know I am a little behind on updating), I tweaked the honey oat bread a tiny bit to incorporate whole what flour.  Well, I was thrilled with the results.  As was Murphy,  I gave my dad a slice to try it fresh out of the oven, and Murphy quickly absconded with it when my dad wasn’t looking.  I know, I know, bad manners.

Anyway, all in all, I think I am fairly convinced that homemade bread is the way to go!

Anyway,  here is the recipe as I modified it:

Ingredients

  • 1 Tablespoon Active Dry Yeast
  • 1-¾ cup Warm Water
  • 1 cup Old Fashioned Oats, Divided
  • ⅓ cups Honey
  • 3 Tablespoons Canola Oil2 ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 2-3 cups All-Purpose Flour (I used about 2 ½ cups)
  • 2 cups Whole-Wheat Flour
  • 1-2 tablespoons Wheat Germ
  • 1-2 Tablespoons Ground Flax Seed
  • 1 whole Egg Beaten

Steps

  1. Sprinkle the yeast over the water and let set for 10 minutes until frothy.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together 3/4 cup oats, honey, oil and salt, and the yeast-water mixture.
  3. Stir in the wheat germ and flax seed and enough of the flour to form a soft dough.
  4. Coat a large bowl with non-stick spray. Transfer dough the bowl and turn it over to coat. Cover with plastic wrap and then a kitchen towel. Let rise for about 1 hour, or until doubled in volume.
  5. Punch the dough down and shape into 2 loaves. I just free-formed 2 loaves on a baking sheet. But you can use loaf pans if you want (this is actually what the recipe calls for). Cover and let rise for 20 minutes.
  6. Brush the top of the loaves with beaten egg, and sprinkle with the remaining 1/4 cup oats. [I completely forgot this step and the bread still turned out amazing.  Next go round, I may just omit it intentionally, although the bread does look prettier when you follow this step.
  7. Bake at 350ºF for 35-40 minutes. When you knock on the bottom of the bread and it sounds hollow, it is done.
  8. Top with butter or honey for a delicious side to any meal!

Oh, and the loaf I froze last time – turned out great!!!  This recipe is totally a keeper!!!  Murphy agrees!

Here is the original bread:

The Original, Amazingly Delicious Bread!

And the new bread, as part of an awesome grilled-cheese sandwich:

Grilled Cheese with Homemade Bread, Apples, & Bacon

Yes, those are apples in the grilled cheese.  I think it is the most delicious combination ever!! Ryan refuses to try it.  Anyone else put apples (or other yummy goodies) in their grilled cheese?

Tagged , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Update on Giving Up Store-Bought Bread

  1. Suzette says:

    That sandwich looks very good! I haven’t ever tried putting apples in a grilled cheese, but apples and cheese are a classic and delicious combination, so it stands to reason it would go well in a sandwich. I bake bread often–love to try new recipes, thanks for sharing this.

  2. Hmmm…never would have thought to try apples in grilled cheese. But it would go along with the whole “applie pie without cheese is like a hug without a squeeze” idea I guess. Might have to try it.

  3. […] know that I have said before that I was contemplating giving up store-bought bread – here and here.  While we haven’t actually fully implemented that goal, we definitely do not eat a ton of […]

  4. […] made.  The crust was amazing!!!!I have tried a few bread recipes over the last year or two – here and here – so I am thinking that we may need to have a bread cooking challenge to determine […]

Leave a Reply

