Less Spicy Extra Meaty Chili

 

Here is the recipe I used for this weekend’s chili over everything.  It wasn’t my spiciest – my mom came for dinner and requested a less spicy chili – but can easily be spiced up.  I should have told her that if my spicy chili was causing her heartburn, that I was just making up for the heartburn I didn’t cause her as a teenager, because I was a perfect kid.  Oh well.

I am trying to catch up on recipes from last weekend.  Apparently, I cooked too much!

Last weekend, I made chili for the chili over everything extravaganza. My mom requested that I make it a little less spicy so it doesn’t give her heartburn (apparently not everyones loves the spice as much as I do). I tried to tell her that I am giving her heartburn to make up for the heartburn I didn’t give her as a teenager (because I was such a perfect child).

I asked Ryan if I should use ground beef or “chunky beef,” as he likes to call it.  He couldn’t decide and then said “BOTH.”  So this recipe is a little on the meaty side.  This boy likes meat.  Convincing him to have meatless Monday is going to be difficult.

Anyway here is the recipe for less spicy chili:

Ingredients

  • 1 pound beef stew meat
  • 1/2 pound bacon
  • 2 pounds ground beef
  • 1 large onion
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • 2 red peppers
  • 3 cans beans of your choosing
  • 2 large cans of petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 beer
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 2-3 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1-2 teaspoons red pepper flakes
  • 2 teaspoons cayenne pepper

Steps

  1. Mix beer, 1 tablespoon chili powder, flour, red pepper flakes, and cayenne pepper.
  2. Cut stew meat into small pieces (I used a scissors instead of a knife because it seems to work easier).
  3. Put stew meat into beer and spice mixture and let it sit for at least an hour.
  4. Cut bacon into small pieces (I trimmed off a lot of the excess fat).  Add bacon to pot over medium heat.
  5. When bacon is cooked, add onions and saute onions until translucent, add garlic and saute 1-2 minutes.
  6. Add stew meat, cook 5-10 minutes, and then add ground beef. Add remaining chili powder (2 tablespoons).
  7. When meat is cooked, add red peppers, diced tomatoes (we drained the liquid out of one of the cans), and beans.
  8. Bring to a boil and simmer until chili reaches the desired consistency.

At this point, you should cool your chili and put it into a garbage bag:

Chili in a Garbage Bag? What?

Kidding about the garbage bag! However, we have started using slow cooker bags to make clean-up easier.

Regarding the spice, Ryan informs me that during the week he would add a little tabasco sauce to the chili after he heated it up and then it had the perfect amount of spice.

Now, would you believe me that the cost of this chili came out to less than 1.50 per person?  Yup, yummy and economical!!  As a caveat, I did not price out the spices.  Sorry that is just too much work for me!

So here is how the cost breakdown:

Half Pound Bacon 1.49
Beef Stew Meat 3.91
Ground Beef 7.13
Onion 0.60
Garlic 0.56
Red Pepper 2.20
Tomatoes 1.78
Beans 1.80
Beer 1.00
Total 20.47
Per Serving (15 servings) $1.36

p.s. I checked with Ryan, and he agrees, that we got at least 15 servings out of the chili.  Even if there were only twelve servings, the cost is about $1.70 per person!

Oh, and the nutritional information (assuming 12 servings):

  • Calories: 387
  • Carbs: 28
  • Fat: 15
  • Protein: 30

Same, but this time assuming 15 servings:

  • Calories: 310
  • Carbs: 22
  • Fat: 12
  •  Protein: 24
Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

