Anniversaries

Ryan and I met on Halloween three years ago, so we always celebrate our anniversary on Halloween weekend.

In case you were wondering, he went as a priest, and I went as electrocuted.  We have differing opinions as to who saw who first, how we met, and the effectiveness of his lame pick-up lines. If I remember correctly, the line he used was “I have been waiting to get your name all night.”  Ryan now informs me that it went like this . . . eye contact, smile, pick-up line.  He says it wasn’t a question, but a statement. Boys.  So that is another story for another day.

Anyway, after the Packer game Ryan fell asleep so I proceeded to steal the remote and put on Jersey Shore (yes, my taste in television is that bad, and I am okay with it).

Ryan woke up from his nap just in time for the part of the episode where Mike asks Paula to be his girlfriend.  Bad timing.

You see, I am pretty sure Ryan never officially asked me to be his girlfriend.  So even though we have been together for three years (and have a hair dog-son together), he never actually officially asked me to be his girlfriend, which is why we celebrate Halloween as our anniversary.  There really isn’t another official day.

When I brought this up to Ryan, he said,  really, I never asked?? (Which is another problem, because if he had, and he didn’t remember, I think that might be worse).  I said, nope, unless you count the day where you told me that you allegedly caught me smiling at a guy at a bar, and told me that had to “stop making eyes at other guys.”  To that I say, don’t worry honey, I only have eyes for you . . . .

And Murphy.

Tagged ,

4 thoughts on “Anniversaries

  1. JenniferVaughn says:

    Happy anniversary! The guy who became my husband never gave me the official “girlfriend” title either. Well, not officially. I think I was on the phone with him while he passed out my cookies in the Marine Corps barracks and he told the guys his “girlfriend” made the cookies. At least I hope those were my cookies… hm.

Leave a Reply

