Packers v. Vikings – What to Cook?

Today, Ryan is heading to the Packer Game (yet another man weekend – he has such a rough life), so its just me and Murphy.  Not so sure what to cook for the game.

I associate Minnesota with Potato Soup (not sure why).  Maybe it is because the last couple of times the Packers have play the Vikings I have made Juicy Lucy’s and Potato Soup, and I really like potato soup.  I am feeling a bit under the weather, so I am thinking soup would be delicious.

Here is the burger I made for the last game . . .

Juicy Lucy

Any other suggestion out there?

 

p.s Murphy says hi . . .

Murphy Bow Tie

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Packers v. Vikings – What to Cook?

  1. Sean Breslin says:

    I’d suggest something that sticks to your bones. It must be cold up there!

  2. noodle21 says:

    I might have to go with the Potato Soup . . . I just found out that January is National Soup Month – maybe loaded Baked Potato Soup??

  3. Well, since it’s just you and the pooch, maybe something you could share with Murphy? Or at least a snack you could share. I used to be such a stickler for dogs only eating dog food, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve allowed them to sample some of the human edibles. BUT, they only get to partake on special occasions, if the food is not spicy/salty/unsafe for them and as long as they don’t beg at the table. Then they get to eat their portions out of their own bowls.

    Soup does sound good, though, especially with some good bread or crackers or even a grilled cheese sandwich on the side. I love grilled cheese, especially with gruyere or even brie in the sandwich.

    • noodle21 says:

      Yummm – grilled cheese and tomato soup. I have this homemade honey oat bread that is fantastic as grilled cheese. If it was up to Murphy we would have either pancakes or popcorns. Those are his two favorite human foods. I tried not to give him human food, but I found that for treats at least, I would rather give him human food (veggies, turkey, etc.) than processed dog food.

  4. Oh dear! I’m a Vikes fan myself. I might do beer cheese soup when we play Green Bay, but we don’t have TV, so we don’t actually get to see the games. 😀

    When I think of MN food, I think lefse (very bland,) lutefisk (YUCK!) and wild rice. I have a recipe for wild rice dressing on my blog, and I plan on sharing my turkey wild rice soup and hot dish recipes eventually.

    Here’s a link to the wild rice dressing recipe, and a recipe for mashed potatoes for freezing. http://overwhelmingpeace.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/make-ahead-and-freeze-wild-rice-dressing-and-mashed-potatoes/

    I use the dressing recipe as a base for either the soup or the hot dish. Hmmm… I have all the ingredients. I might have to make some this week!

    Thank you for liking my cheese ball recipe entries. I do love that stuff!

Leave a Reply

