Can You Eat Healthy** on a Budget**?

So you probably noticed a few things about the title of this blog that are a little out of the ordinary.  The first being that it isn’t all about Murphy.  He is currently otherwise engaged tearing apart the remnants of his baby dino toy, so he is too busy to blog.  Stay tuned, and I promise he will return to the regularly scheduled programming.

The second thing is probably the asterisks in the title and the overall theme.  Let me explain.

The asterisks:

  • Healthy  – I generally mean avoiding processed foods.    We are not gluten/lactose free, and I don’t have the ability to make  recipes that require a thousand healthy substitutions.  Besides Ryan is a meat and potatoes boy at heart.  Hence why all attempts at introducing Meatless Monday have so stunningly failed.
  • Budget – We have a grocery/household expense budget (about $60-70/week), but it is not strictly enforced. Ryan and I both work full time, and he has limited patience for shopping, so we do not play the “drugstore game,” and I only go to one grocery store, and I only go once a week.  I also do not use online coupons because I can never get the printer to work.

I know that this is different than my usual topics, but I thought I would give it a try to see if others think it is possible and whether others have suggestions for healthy eating on a budget.

A little over a year ago, I started couponing. After some misadventures, I think I finally have a couponing plan that works for us.  (No we are not extreme couponers, and I do not have a stockpile).  About the same time, Ryan and I started on a health-kick.   These two new initiatives didn’t really go hand-in-hand, but over time we have worked out a strategy that works for us.  I thought I talk about some of my couponing habits, the healthy and “cheapish” recipes we like, and see if any of you had  additional suggestions.

 

***More asterisks ***

I know you are worried about the asterisks, no need to be.  Just a heads up, that the regular programming will be returning in the near future as well.  Now that the Packer schedule is released, Ryan and I will be working on a menu for the season.  We will be looking for menu suggestions in the next few weeks, so please leave suggestions with “Football City” foods and recipes.

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “Can You Eat Healthy** on a Budget**?

  1. shellakers says:

    HAHA! LOVED this one! Yes, I think it’s possible to eat healthy *enough* (lol) on a budget. I am like you and don’t even WANT to take the time (even if it were financially possible) to make healthy substitutions. I SHOULD do gluten free but probably won’t ever. I DO buy lactose free milk for me and my daughter because we can’t handle the other. But we eat like your hubby. Meat and potatoes. I find what’s on sale in fresh produce. Like this week, asparagus has been on sale so I bought a couple of bunches. So has broccoli. It’s easy to fix several different ways. With asparagus, I toss it in olive oil and garlic powder and sea salt (or regular salt)… throw it in the oven at 350 topped with Parmesan cheese…. it feeds all 3 of us for 2 days.

    I guess you didn’t ask us for recipes but you just got one anyway! lol How bout that? But yes, for 2 people it’s very possible to eat pretty healthy on $60-70 a week. Do you guys have Aldi’s stores by you?

    • noodle21 says:

      We do have an Aldi’s near us, but I have never shopped there. Thanks for the asparagus recipe. I just bought some yesterday!!

      • shellakers says:

        Yay Aldi’s! You’ll like the asparagus recipe because it’s so easy. Just remember to leave it in for about as long as it takes to make the asparagus dark green and still crunchy. When it turns olive green, it’s over cooked and kind of soggy, although it’s still good, IMO.

        Aldi’s used to be not so good but now they have produce cheaper than I’ve seen even at the farmers markets. ANd it’s always very good produce because they have a policy where if you bring back even 1 grape that you didn’t like, they’ll give you 100% of your money back. I’ve bought some of the tastiest produce there in the past year. Most everything they have there now is very good and SOOOOOO much more inexpensive than anywhere else. The only thing I hate is having to bag my own groceries. A lot of people bring boxes in to load up.

  2. LaLa says:

    Cheap easy food: Mexican Casserole! I love to cook, but being a second shifter is difficult for “healthy” eating, and cooking at any sort of reasonable time. The ingredients are cheap, though I haven’t found coupons for the items very often. BONUS: it freezes well, so you can make a couple, & thaw/cook when you don’t have time to be in the kitchen for awhile.
    Instructions: layer of refried beans, layer of salsa, tortilla, a little shredded cheese, 1/2 pound seasoned ground beef, more shredded cheese, top with crushed tortilla chips.
    I know its fatty, but it’s not bad!

    • noodle21 says:

      I bet if you subbed out ground turkey for ground beef it would be pretty good for you. One of my favorite dishes to make is a burrito bowl. I use ground turkey or super lean ground beef when it is on sale, and it ends up being pretty healthy for you. Plus, it has a lot of protein, so you end up feeling pretty full throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

