Dutch Oven Bread

Yum Yum Yum!!!!

This may potentially be the best bread I have ever made.  The crust was amazing!!!!I have tried a few bread recipes over the last year or two – here and here – so I am thinking that we may need to have a bread cooking challenge to determine once and for all the best of the bests.  I am sure Ryan will not complain.    In case you haven’t noticed, this house will never be a carb free house.

I started with this recipe from the Lean Green Bean.  I needed to tweak the recipe because I didn’t have any bread flour or whole wheat flour.  I know that one should not mess with recipes while baking, but I have thus far been successful with changing recipes and not having any major catastrophes.

Here is the recipe that I ended up with:

***updated***
Ingredients
  • 3 cups all purpose flour (plus more for kneading)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Pinch of sugar
  • 1½ c warm water
  • 2¾ tsp active dry yeast
Instructions
  1. Pour the warm water into bowl of stand mixer.
  2. Add yeast and a pinch of sugar and let sit for 5 minutes.
  3. Add salt and flour and stir until a ball of dough is formed.  Watch closely and stop the mixer as soon as a ball forms.
  4. Remove the dough from the bowl and spray with nonstick spray.  Place the dough back in the bowl and cover and let rise in a warm place for 3 hours. (I put the bowl by the window in the sun because it was nice and sunny outside, but otherwise I would have put the dough in a warmed oven).
  5. Remove dough from the bowl and knead for 5-10 minutes.  Place dough back in the bowl and let it rise again.
  6. While dough is rising, place your dutch oven (uncovered) in the oven and preheat to 430 degrees F.  Leave the dutch oven in the oven for 15-20 minutes.
  7. Carefully drop into the dutch oven.
  8. Cover and let bake for 30 minutes.
  9. Uncover and let bake 10 minutes longer.
  10. Remove loaf from dutch oven and let cool. (But do not let it cool too much because warm bread fresh out of the oven is the best!)

Enjoy!!

As soon as I sliced into the bread, I knew it was going to be delicious!!!!

DSCN4783

My only complaint was that it would be difficult to make multiple loaves at one time.  Ryan pointed out that this is probably a good thing because we would want to eat all of the bread right away!!!  That boy sure comes in useful sometimes!!!

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Dutch Oven Bread

  1. […] also made the Dutch Oven Bread again, and I think I have perfected the recipe.  I updated the recipe, so be sure to check it out. […]

  2. […] Dutch Oven Bread — Yes, again!!!  I promise you that once you try this bread, you will want to make it every […]

Leave a Reply

