Pit Beef Recipe

Here is recipe I started from for the Pit Beef – here.

DSCN4789 DSCN4787

I needed to change the recipe because I was cooking the meat inside and not outside.  Here is the recipe I ended up with:

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • Kaiser Rolls
  • Eye Round (2 1/2 to 3 pounds)
  • “Tiger Sauce”

Instructions

  1. Combine the garlic powder, black pepper, salt, and chili powder.
  2. Place the dry rub all over the eye round, and let the round rest in the fridge.  I placed mine in a plastic bag, and let it rest for about 4 hours.  I then removed the the round and allowed it to come up to temperature on the counter for approximately 30 minutes.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  4. Heat cast iron pan over high heat.
  5. Sear meat on all sides, then cover meat and place it in the oven for approximately 45 minutes or until meat is the desired doneness.  I wanted something closer to medium than rare.
  6. Allow meat to rest for approximately 15 minutes, and then slice to desired thickness.
  7. Pile on a Kaiser Roll, top with Tiger Sauce, or whatever else you want, and enjoy.  For the Tiger Sauce, I mixed together a little horseradish, greek yogurt, and siracha sauce.

DSCN4791

 

I think I will try this recipe again, but on a grill, and I also think I will buy an electric knife for the next go round.  As you can see from the picture above, I desperately need an electric knife – hint, hint Ryan.  I think I would also add sauteed onions next time.  The recipe calls for raw onions, but I am not the biggest fan of raw onions.

When it comes to recipes, I always find myself changing the recipe.  Do you typically follow recipes exactly, or do you change them?

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Pit Beef Recipe

  1. […] men take hints so much better than engaged men.  Remember how I so subtly hinted that I needed an electric knife?  Well guess what I got for sweetest day?  Yes, an electric knife, but I also got a pasta making […]

Leave a Reply

