Mulching

For four months, we lived at my parents or, as Ryan affectionately called it, the “Country Club.”  There were pros and cons to living at the Country Club.  For Ryan, one of the pros was my mother’s love of cooking.  This was both a pro and a con for me, especially when it came time to fit into a bridesmaid dress – the horror!

Since moving out, I made an effort to cook healthier foods and less food.  We all lost weight after moving out – Murphy included.  But the Country Club is still open for business.

Here is Murphy on moving day:

Mom, please don't make me leave the County Club.  I love it here!

Mom, please don’t make me leave the County Club. I love it here!!!

Last weekend, my mother invited us over for breakfast – pancakes and bacon.  I declined in favor of making smoothies at home.  Big mistake, because everyone wanted to know what was in these smoothies.   Spinach!!!! You can imagine the shock and horror, when they learned there was spinach in the smoothies.  Everyone decided I was torturing poor Ryan and making him eat mulch.  Ugh.

So, I decided to prove them all wrong.  I would make the most delicious smoothie ever by using fresh fruit instead of frozen fruit.  The flavor was good, texture, on the other hand – straight up mulch!

Fast forward to this weekend.  After we get home from dinner last night, Ryan informs me that he “may” have made a stop or two running errands, and he “may” have gotten “us” a surprise.  I know my husband well enough to know three things: (1) the surprise is not flowers; (2) the surprise is not something shiny; (3) and the surprise is not for “us.”  What was it you ask?  Buttermilk and sausage, so “we” could make pancakes and sausage instead of  mulch for breakfast!

It was a delicious breakfast, and Ryan did the dishes after so I declare this mulch free breakfast a success!

 

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Mulching

  1. […] Murphy and Ryan love “cakes” for breakfast, and it is definitely a better alternative than mulch for breakfast. […]

Leave a Reply

