Strawberry Basil Soda

Yesterday, we participated in the Walker’s Point Food Crawl in Milwaukee.  One of the restaurants on the Food Crawl, Meraki, had several homemade sodas on the menu, including basil soda.  In spite of my initial reservations, I decided – why not?!?!?!  And . . . . drum roll . . . the soda was by far one of the best things I have ever had!!!

Inspired, I decided to try and make my own basil soda.  I found this recipe, and made it my own:

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound strawberries, trimmed
  • 1 cup water
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 3/4 cup basil leaves
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Soda water

Steps:

  1. Puree strawberries in a blender.
  2. Add strawberry puree, water, lemon juice, basil, and sugar to a medium sauce pan.
  3. Heat over medium-high heat until boiling.
  4. Simmer 5-8 minutes stirring frequently.  Do NOT walk away, the mixture could easily boil over and that is a mess one would not want to clean!
  5. Remove from heat and allow to cool.
  6. Strain syrup.
  7. For serving, mix 2 tablespoons of syrup, lots of ice, and soda water (and vodka if you are over 21) in a glass.
  8. Enjoy!

photo 1

photo 4

 

When asked for comments, Ryan stated that the soda was “an explosion of deliciousness,” and “like Six Flags Great America — a roller coaster in my mouth.”  I think he may have had too much sugar, Murphy and I will monitor him closely.

I also made honey ginger peach soda, but I don’t think I am quite done with that recipe yet.  It still needs a few more tweaks!  I am also thinking about trying blueberry mint!  What other combinations should I try?

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Basil Soda

  1. Hammy says:

    This sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

