Ryan’s Peanut Butter Cookies

A few weeks ago Ryan and I were grocery shopping, and he decided he needed peanut butter cookies.  Instead of buying pre-made dough from the store, I promised Ryan that if he found a recipe online I would make him homemade peanut butter cookies.

So, when we got home off Ryan went to his office, with Murphy close on his heels, to research peanut butter cookie recipes.  Twenty minutes later my boys came back downstairs with a marked-up recipe.  Not only had Ryan found a recipe, but he had made revisions!!!!!  This had the potential to be truly horrible — the last “recipe” Ryan came up with was mixing Fritos with peanut butter for a snack.

Nevertheless, being the “good” wife I am, I followed his recipe as requested (and he says I am incapable of “obeying”).  Here is the recipe he found as a starting point, here is what we ended up with:

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter, softened
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup Reese’s Pieces

Steps

  1. Preheat the oven to 340 degrees.
  2. Mix together butter, brown sugar, and peanut butter until smooth.
  3. Add egg, milk, and vanilla.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix tougher flour and baking soda.
  5. Add the flour mixture to the to the peanut butter mixture.
  6. Mix in Reese’s Pieces.
  7. Drop rounded spoonfuls onto cookie sheets (Specific Ryan Instruction: use parchment paper to make clean-up easier).
  8. Press down with a fork in a criss-cross pattern (also a Specific Ryan Instruction because apparently peanut butter cookies must have a criss-cross pattern).
  9. Bake 8-10 minutes.
  10. Let cool for a few minutes before moving to a wire-rack to cool completely.
  11. Eat a few (or all of them) while they are still warm.

 

Ryan and Murphy were both pleased with the end-product.  I am thinking I should put Ryan in charge of finding more recipes!!

 

Recipe Notes:

  1. You may need to preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  I use dark, non-stick pans, so I always turn the oven down about ten to fifteen degrees.
  2. I intentionally omitted the salt because we are trying to use less salt.
  3. I like to refrigerate my cookie dough for at least 30 minutes before baking, but this isn’t necessary.
  4. Ryan thought that the cookies were better they next day when they were cool from being in the refrigerator.

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a comment